SS’s Exclusive Interview With Status’ Will Mayo

  • Will Mayo¬†

    DOB 6/3/88
    Hometown: Augusta, ME
    Sponsors: Gatorade, Smith Optics, Status Snowboards, Fuel Outerwear.

    Considering what you have accomplished so far, what are your goals for the future?

    My goals are kind of divided between Mechanical Engineering (I have a Bachelor of Science in the field) and Snowboarding, but I may have found a way to combine both my passions in the form of a binding company, more to come in the next few years. As far as my snowboarding career, I want to push my limits as far as I can every season and snowboard in new and different locations as much as possible.

    Do you like the direction that the sport of snowboarding has gone in since you could remember?

    Yes, in many respects and no in a few others. The fact that the mainstream public eye only sees olympic and X Games events is kind of tough on the sport because it only shows one very small part of such a diverse and interesting sport. But I do love what we see as snowboarders, what the riders like the Helgasons, Torstein, Eero Ettala and Heikki Sorsa all turn out: great video edits and movie parts that include a side of Humor which I (and I'm sure many other riders) really appreciate in this industry. And then there's thosex Art of Flight dudes who constantly blow our minds with their backcounty adventures.

    What board are you going to be riding in the 12/13 season?

    A STATUS Uno 151, for a rider of my size and weight its the perfect balance for Park and Backcountry

    Whats the hardest thing about your job?

    As a Team Manager for STATUS Snowboards or as a Snowboarder? haha, I am constantly on the computer answer emails and uploading footage and making phone calls to filmers, editors, photogs and team riders til my ears hurt. These are the rigors of being a TM. As a Snowboarder, I really cant complain, I would have to say the hardest part of my job is injuries, but they are rare for me. I think it has to do with the fact that I am short and can usually avoid injury when I come up short or fall the wrong way, there's just not a lot of body weight behind the crash so I can Knuckle and be ok.

    Any nutrition secrets?
    Yes, a steady diet of In and Out Burger, Spaghetti, Ramen, Coors Banquets and lots and lots of Gatorade will always generate a great athlete.

    What are you doing when your not snowboarding?

    I like to Rock Climb, and spend time on the lake up in Maine. Also Music is a huge influence in my life, I have been a lead singer, bassist and guitarist in the various bands I have been a part of over the years.

    At what age did you start snowboarding? Were you on Ski's first?

    I started snowboarding on a plastic board that I got from a department store when I was 9 or so. The first hill I went to was about 20 feet tall in the middle of Capitol Park in Augusta, ME. I got a real board a few years later and started riding at Lost Vally... my home hill in Auburn, it was only about 200 feet of vertical.

    Family...What does it mean to you?

    Everything, Since I lost my father to A.L.S. when I was in 8th grade, I have lived everyday for him, striving to be as good as I can no matter what I do because I know that would make him proud. My mother, despite her lack of interest in seeing me throw myself off of dangerous features, has always been very supportive of my snowboarding Career, she is currently the C.F.O. for the University of Maine System and is probably only disappointed that none of her children went to U Maine for College. My older brother and younger sister are so different than me that I cant help but be intrigued constantly by their lives. My Brother James is a professional poker player with a degree in Broadcast Journalism from B.U., and My sister Katherine is about to graduate from Hofstra with a dual degree in Dance and Civil Engineering.

    Do you have any trips already planned for the 12/13 season that you're stoked about?

    yes the earliest of which would probably be the NZ Open. I cant wait I have never been to New Zealand and I have never snowboarded in August.

    What is something that a lot of people don't know about you?

    I am a boss at Karaoke

    What were you doing for work before you went pro?

    Well I mostly was concentrated on school, but i have been a painter, a factory floor worker at a paper mill and a snow reporter for Wachusett Mountain in Mass. Most regularly I coached snowboarding in the winter and worked for my uncles catering/fried fair food business.

    How many days do you get to ride a year?

    this year, since October 6th, I have put in 125 days and I have 5 weeks of summer riding and Super Park 16 still to look forward to.

    Favorite mountain/run?
    Keystone CO, Area 51 if you prefer park. Sugarloaf Maine, Tote Road if you prefer a regular old run, its just so good.

    Favorite trick?
    BS Rodeo Japan 900

    Favorite workout?
    Rock Climbing, and P90X Yoga between those two things and snowboarding I feel pretty fit.

    FACEBOOK
    TWITTER
    BLOG

1 Response

  1. […] on. Started getting into product reviews and pro interviews with riders such as Rob Hallowell, Will Mayo, Gjermand Braaten & Xavier De La Rue. Currently, we’re working on a Gear Guide and now […]

  2. Met Will Mayo at Mammoth. Wow, what an attitude! Dude thinks he’s A-list. More like C list, chump. Drop the attitude, more people will like you. Try it.