SS’s Exclusive Interview with Jamie Anderson

  • Jamie Anderson
    DOB: 9/13/1990
    Hometown: South Lake Tahoe, CA
    Sponsors: Billabong
    Jamie Anderson is a 2 time X Games gold medalist as well as a TTR World Champion. She has 4 X Game medals in total and is a serious competitor all over the world. She also was the youngest athlete to win a medal at the Winter X Games at age 15. SS had a chance to ask her a few questions about herself... 

    Considering what you have accomplished so far, what are your goals for the future? Hah, my goals are to learn more, get stronger, an just be the best person I can be 🙂
    Do you like the direction that the sport of snowboarding has gone in since you could remember? Yea... The sport had grown a lot in the past 5 years, and it's been really cool to be a part of everything...
    Whats the hardest thing about your job? Taking care of your body. Mentally and physically throughout the season... It is crazy how much traveling/ jetlag and riding different conditions can take a toll on your body. But we're athletes we're supposed to take good care f ourselves and stay healthy. And sometimes that can be the challenge.
    Any nutrition secrets? I like to eat a Plant based diet ( a little harder in the winter)...I like to eat fresh organic food that is alive and healthy. From fresh pressed juices, super smoothies, salads, rice and beans, salsas, home made soups. Pretty much everything but animal products. No meat, no dairy, no packaged or processed foods...
    What are you doing when your not snowboarding? I love to do yoga, mountain bike, hike, swim, I've been working on my new organic underwear company, TRYE ( to respect your earth) try to garden, bits it tough in the mountains... I love to be outside and be active.
    At what age did you start snowboarding? Were you on Ski's first? I started snowboarding at 9... Skied once when I was a little younger...
    Family...What does it mean to you? Family means everything to me. I'm one of 8 kids, and we're all super close. I think it's amazing to have siblings. There my best friends! Love my family...
    What is something that a lot of people don't know about you? That I have 5 sisters and 2 brothers! 
    What were you doing for work before you went pro? I worked with my mom, she has a lawn care business. And I also sold golf balls at the local golf course...
    How many days do you get to ride a year? A lot. Very blessed.
    Favorite mountain/run? I love Sierra at Tahoe! Auger in spice all the way to wear bowl 😉 
    Favorite trick? Switch back 5
    Favorite workout? Yoga
    Advice for a newbie? Do what you love.... The rest comes.
      
    Before going pro, what inspired u to snowboard? I just wanting to be outside playing on the mountains with all my sisters and friends! 

0 Responses

  1. […]   […]