SS’s Exclisuve Interview With Rob Hallowell

  • DOB: 12/7/1988

    Sponsors: DC Snowboarding, Oakley, Drake, Drop, Snowboard Jones
    Rob is an up and coming snowboarder who lives in New Hampshire but does his best to shred it all over the country. Make sure you keep an eye out for this highly skilled athlete as he continues to film and tour the country doing what he loves.
    Considering what you have accomplished so far, what are your goals for the future?  Continue to have fun snowboarding, go on a cross country street mission, I would really like to film a full video part, get a contract, snowboard as much as I can but most of all enjoy it while I can ride!
    Do you like the direction that the sport of snowboarding has gone in since you could remember?  Yeah it's sweet to see all the dubs n what not. But some of it has just become a huck fest to see who can do more rotations verses style and control.
    What board are you going to be riding in the12/13 season? DC MLF 158 Iikka pro
    Whats the hardest thing about your job?  Making it a paid position haha injuries always suck, getting where you want/need to be is sometimes tough. 
    Any nutrition secrets? No secrets, french toast, eggs and milk in the morning beer in the evening.
    What are you doing when your not snowboarding? Hanging out with friends, playing ice hockey, hiking, in the summer out on the boat in NH, grillin and swimming
    At what age did you start snowboarding? Were you on Ski's first? I was 12 when I started. I skied once when I was like 8 but I don't really remember all I know is all I wanted to do was snowboard.
    Family...What does it mean to you?  Family is important! You can't get where you want to be without the support!
    Do you have any trips already planned for the12/13 season that you're stoked about?  Nothing set in stone but I plan to start the season in Colorado in November then try to get to SLC and definitely a long stay in Tahoe. I'd really like to get to Jackson hole and Whistler but probably not next season. 
    What is something that a lot of people don't know about you?  I'm originally from the Philadelphia, PA area. 
    How many days do you get to ride a year?  Over 130
    Favorite mountain/run?  Loon Mountain, NH ride the gondola up down flying fox to LMP its the best run! Other then Loon I really enjoy riding Sierra at Tahoe, Mammoth and Keystone.
    Favorite trick? Backside rodeo
    Favorite workout? Go for a hike then out for a sunset wakeboard session

0 Responses

  1. […] should be working on. Started getting into product reviews and pro interviews with riders such as Rob Hallowell, Will Mayo, Gjermand Braaten & Xavier De La Rue. Currently, we’re working on a Gear Guide […]